Why the switch off Live Spaces…

February 17, 2007 at 5:37 pm 3 comments

I launched this blog on Feb. 9th. 2007 on Live spaces (http://communitygrouptherapy.spaces.live.com/).  As part of my initial post, I said I was starting with live spaces, but that if I found limitations I was unhappy with I would be switching (despite my place of employment:)).  So, here we are, about 1 week later and I’ve abondoned spaces for wordpress. 

I promised that if I switched I would talk about why the change, so here goes.  First let me say that some of the limitations of spaces likely have solutions, but they weren’t readily discoverable.  Furthermore, I felt that if I was going to change, I should change as soon as possible to minimize the impact on anyone trying to follow this blog.

Now, I will say on my way out from spaces that spaces is actually very good…in fact outstanding…and I now have something to compare to.  For the millions of users who want a very easy to use, low to no tech skills required blogging tool that enables you to have an attractive blog up in 30 minutes or less – live spaces ROCKS!  All that ease of use, does cost you some customization capabilities and I found the reporting functions pretty limiting.  For example, the reporting doesn’t provide for a count of rss feed subscribers – which would seem a fairly basic item.  I didn’t like the ads on my blog either.  I realize I could get rid of that (I think) with a premium subscription, but some uncertainty in that combined with other items did stop me from going further on that.

So, there you have it.  I could have tried harder I think to make spaces work for me, but I chose not to.  I’m quite happy with word press for my needs, but to be clear, if you are a novice computer user, I’m not sure I’d recommend it or most of the other blog tools I thinly surveyed.  So, mom, if you are reading this and want to start a blog – use spaces! 

Sean 

Entry filed under: General Community Discussion.

Convincing the unconverted, Part 4 The enthusiasts are coming…the enthusiasts are coming…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. abhishek kant  |  February 18, 2007 at 10:27 am

    hi sean

    it is great to see you blog! i really think this is great way of participating in the community and sets a precedent..

    i agree with Live spaces limitations and would think that it is better if you want to share rich media more on ur blog e.g. photos, video.

    one of the great features of wordpress is the trackback support 🙂

    happy blogging..

    Cheers
    Abhishek

    Reply
  • 2. Sean ODriscoll  |  February 18, 2007 at 11:26 am

    It does offer some good things, but it all seems made even better by live writer…I started playing with it today and thus far I think it is very good. I’ll blog on it soon.

    here’s a link: http://ideas.live.com/programpage.aspx?versionId=4372c8c2-b76f-4d44-aea1-9835b61d8dc1

    Sean

    Reply
  • […] 21st, 2007 Well, since I abandoned MS live spaces quickly after launching this blog there first, I thought I owed a little plug to some enhancements […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feedburner feed

Subscribe to my feed

click here Subscribe with Bloglines

Favorite

Add to Technorati Favorites

Filter Blog by Date

February 2007
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Flickr Photos

197

196

195

More Photos

Who am I?

Quick Blog Stats

  • 48,114 Page Views

