Are you blogging without Windows Live Writer?

February 20, 2007 at 3:47 pm 9 comments

Ok, so I hope I bought a little credibility by giving up on Live Spaces and moving to Word Press, but today I am drinking the Kool-aid.  If you are blogging and not use Live Writer then you might be crazy.  If there is something better out there, feel free to let me know, but with only a few days under my belt using it, I’m very impressed.  It is dramatically improving my life quickly and addresses one of the weak points of word press (the editor).

What you get (from MS web site):

 

WYSIWYG editing: Edit using the style of your blog, including fonts, colors, line spacing, margins, etc.
Rich content: Insert and customize rich content like photos, maps and more
Offline editing: Compose and edit drafts even when you’re not connected to the Internet
Blog preview: See exactly what your post will look like in the context of your blog before you upload it
Smart image publishing: Add images to your blog post, and they’ll automatically appear as thumbnails that link to larger images with more detail
Compatibility: Support for publishing to Windows Live Spaces, as well as Blogger, LiveJournal, TypePad, WordPress, and many other blog hosting services

 

And now that you have Live Writer, go to Codeplex and grab the insert website image plugin which will allow you add web page images in seconds…

Sean

Useful? Digg it!

Entry filed under: General Community Discussion.

Online Discussions – Insights you could use! An Online Community Apology…JetBlue

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Deirdre Walsh  |  February 21, 2007 at 4:01 am

    Sean — Have you seen Harvard Prof. Andrew McAfee’s blog? He mostly talks about Enterprise 2.0; however, recently he discussed “A Technology Flip Test: Introducing Channels in a World of Platforms.”

    Since you mentioned blogs, I figured this was an interesting quote to share: “One useful flip test consists of mentally switching the order of appearance of a new technology and an existing one. At a conference years back I was sitting on a panel that was asked to talk about future of the book. As the discussion was heating up about the inevitability of the electric media, someone on the panel (I wish it had been me) proposed a flip test. He said ‘Let’s say the world has only e-books, then someone introduces this technology called ‘paper.’ It’s cheap, portable, lasts essentially forever, and requires no batteries. You can’t write over it once it’s been written on, but you buy more very cheaply. Wouldn’t that technology come to dominate the market?’ It’s fair to say that comment changed the direction of the panel.”

    After doing a couple of flip tests, I came up with my own predictions.

    1) There will be some abusive of the Web 2.0 technologies and that only a handful of the innovations will actually be successful/impacting Take social networking for example. When I first started experimenting with the available services (facebook, friendster, Linkedn), I joined tons of “groups,” added grade school classmates as friends, and moved my blog from MSN Spaces to the social networking site. A few years later, I realized there is a value to social networking; however, having 10,000 friends, joining 100 groups, and privatizing my blog is not it! Social networks are good for “long tail” communications such as Austin Independent Music Coalition, where you can easily target a segmented group that would have a hard time finding/talking to each other. It’s not very feasible to encourage people to support local musicians by attending every concert in town or expecting people to sign up for yet another direct mail piece. Social networking in a corporate sense is good for finding “other professionals like me” (i.e. VB programmers in Iowa or .NET programmers for medical companies). You get the idea.

    2) Traditional media is here to stay!!!! Maybe it’s because of my love/knowledge for the history of public relations and journalism; however, I don’t think it will ever go away. Already the “bloggers are journalists” myth is being put to the test. Bloggers are constituents/community members/activists/vocal minorities, etc. They are not always members of the media. While “the media Man” might have adapt to be more open just like big corporations after Enron and WorldCom, there is still a valued place for them. It also might mean there is a switch in the industry — should you have to pass a bar-like exam to consider yourself a journalist or pr expert? Is there a need for accreditation? If corporate reputation and mass media is the heartbeat of industry information, then maybe. I wouldn’t go to a doctor who didn’t pass his MCAT or use a lawyer who failed the bar. The flip test is give the non-journalist the right to use traditional media outlets…oh wait, that’s public access and I know how much I watch it 😉 (PBS excluded, of course).

    Thoughts?

    Reply
  • 3. Sean ODriscoll  |  February 22, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    Thanks for the notion Deirdre! I’ve been thinking on this. I’ve been wrestling with what I think the right flip test should be for Web 2.0. Is the flip print media? Or, how about traditional broadcast (read non-interactive) television? It’s an interesting thing to think through. The conclusion I guess I come to is that the real opportunity is in blending the two traditional “sides of the flip” for a best of both worlds approach. I think Lee at Commoncraft captures this notion very very well at: http://www.commoncraft.com/archives/000593.html

    I think this view of Stocks (static content) vs Flows (threaded or community content) in web communication is a very good metaphor where the outcome isn’t to say one is better than the other, but that there is a need to better integrate the respective pieces. Taken further, look in most companies, especially large companies, and you will find the organizations (which also means people and dollar investments) for online vs Community initiatives sit in different orgs/structures. Any surprise the experience isn’t a best of both scenario. Time to be a change agent!

    Sean

    Reply
  • 4. ScottIsAFool  |  February 26, 2007 at 1:21 am

    There are also a few sites that showcase plugins for Live Writer, these include:

    http://www.wlwplugins.com
    http://www.live-writer.de
    http://gallery.live.com/default.aspx?l=8

    As well as several that I have made (info on my blog), and a backup utility that I made for Live Writer to backup accounts and previous blog posts etc.

    Scøtt

    Reply
  • 5. Sean ODriscoll  |  February 26, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    I’ll check these out, thanks for adding!

    Sean

    Reply
  • 6. Ray Dixon  |  March 2, 2007 at 9:27 am

    Live Writer also works with blogs hosted on Community Server.

    Reply
  • 7. Brian Desmond  |  March 2, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    I was using Live Writer until I discovered Word 2007 has this functionality. You get the full Word interface and its inline with my daily workflow – I already have word open on my PC – Ctrl+N, new blog post, cook something up, hit save for my offline archive, and publish and I’m done. I never used any of the plugins for Live Writer so thats the only advantage I see of it over Word.

    Reply
  • 8. Sean ODriscoll  |  March 2, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    I’ll have to try that with wordpress and see how it goes for comparison. thanks for the tip.

    sean

    Reply
  • 9. ammogirl  |  March 17, 2007 at 10:45 am

    Hi Sean,

    K sent me here for this download; I can’t wait to try it out! Thanks for the help,

    ammogirl

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feedburner feed

Subscribe to my feed

click here Subscribe with Bloglines

Favorite

Add to Technorati Favorites

Filter Blog by Date

February 2007
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Flickr Photos

Who am I?

Quick Blog Stats

  • 48,114 Page Views

