An Online Community Apology…JetBlue

February 21, 2007 at 3:58 pm 3 comments

I don’t know if anyone who reads my blog was directly effected by the events at Jetblue, but I think it’s interesting and commendable to see them reaching out personally (and via community – or else I wouldn’t blog about it) to apologize and re-position with a personal face on what is a business and customer service dissaster.  At their site you can read their new customer bill of rights (not ground breaking in terms of a reaction) and more importantly see the YouTube apology from their Founder and CEO. 

 

What I like about the video is that it feels personal, humble and not overly scripted/polished – which to me is what makes it pretty effective.  Unlike corporate apology letters that never sound quite right.  Take for example the recent hoax in Boston and follow up apology letter from Turner Broadcasting.  Now, who is to say which company and executive is truly more sincere…but which one do you believe is more sincere based not of the issue, but their respective responses?

Digg it if you like it!

Sean

Entry filed under: General Community Discussion.

Are you blogging without Windows Live Writer? Is Google stealing equity from your brand?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tina Erwee  |  February 22, 2007 at 12:58 am

    OK, so I was not affected. I still liked the apology :p.

    Apologies are important. An apology only really feels sincere if it has the following characteristics – and this counts for our personal lives as well:

    1) It has to be personal – “I” and “We” messages
    2) It doesn’t contain a single “But” – any reservations added to an apology nullifies it!
    3) there is some plan about how to prevent the situation from repeating

    Tina

    Reply
  • 2. Tara Hunt  |  February 24, 2007 at 9:41 am

    I must say that I was super touched to just get the email from JetBlue…although I’m not surprised. Their commitment comes through in everything they do. From the time I book my ticket to the time I get off of the plane, feeling like I was treated like a human being, refreshed and happy to have traveled with them, JetBlue puts the same effort into everyday.

    That, to me, is the most important. Apologies are great, but how they treat everyone everyday is the big deal. 🙂

    Reply
  • […] really should be elevated, he’s provided some coverage of Jet Blue’s execs humble and sincere video apologies and customer bill of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feedburner feed

Subscribe to my feed

click here Subscribe with Bloglines

Favorite

Add to Technorati Favorites

Filter Blog by Date

February 2007
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Flickr Photos

Who am I?

Quick Blog Stats

  • 48,114 Page Views

