Convincing the Unconverted…BBQ Forum update…

March 2, 2007 at 8:24 am 3 comments

I almost couldn’t have a better example of what I’m talking about on the virtual and viral nature of community.  If you read my initial post on Convincing the unconverted, I talked about the power of the analogy by using my own personal story of BBQing…well, a few days later, the following email showed up in my inbox (names changed for privacy).

Good morning, Sean,

I’m Joe BBQ, the Marketing Coordinator for Cookshack, Inc. I came upon your blog post (http://communitygrouptherapy.com/2007/02/13/convincing-the-unconverted-on-communities/), in which you mention the Cookshack Barbecue Forum. Thank you for the kind words about the forum, it was great to read. I hope that you are still visiting the forum often.

March is the 6 year anniversary of the Barbecue Forum, I would love to quote from, and link to, your blog post about the Cookshack Barbecue Forum in our e-mail newsletter The Backyard Barbecue News. Would that be alright with you?

Thanks,

Joe

Marketing Coordinator

Cookshack, Inc.

www.cookshack.com

1-800-423-0698

I couldn’t have scripted this better if I tried.  I love my Cookshack BBQ and the fact that someone at Cookshack somehow got my post and took this action is a really cool acknowledgement of their commitment to realizing the value of communities to their user base.  Bravo Cookshack…you got me again!!  See you in “Q-ing” forums!

Sean

Entry filed under: General Community Discussion, Why Community Matters.

Exploring communities and corporate HR… Communities, "Smart Mobs" and a followup to the HR discussion…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela Vargo  |  March 2, 2007 at 10:53 am

    That’s awesome. We make an effort to give “love” back to the blogosphere by tracking where our posts end up and commenting back on their blogs to thank them or provide more insight into the topic. It creates an amazing and connected community. In fact, some of the best blogs I’ve found are through our growing network.

    Looks like Cookshack has figured out the secret recipe to blog success!

    (I apologize for that last cheesy statement).

    Reply
  • 2. Sean ODriscoll  |  March 2, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    I love Cheese!

    I think that’s a great approach. In fact as I’ve started my own Blog, I’m doing the same as much as I can and it’s amazing how quickly I’m “virtually” meeting so many interesting people with common interests just by being proactive on something that is already important to me…note the links on my web site now…many of which I only discovered over the last month or so.

    sean

    Reply
  • 3. lussigagas  |  April 2, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    300 is a great movie full of visual effects and graphics which made it different and much better.
    Acting was great, director did a wonderful job and chose great actors, full of action, and it is based on a true story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feedburner feed

Subscribe to my feed

click here Subscribe with Bloglines

Favorite

Add to Technorati Favorites

Filter Blog by Date

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Flickr Photos

197

196

195

More Photos

Who am I?

Quick Blog Stats

  • 48,114 Page Views

