Nearly Twittered out on Twitter…

April 11, 2007 at 9:19 pm 6 comments

Ok…not giving up yet (here I am)…but I have slowed down and lost some interest.  I think I knew from day 1 that Twitter would likely not be for me.  I admit, I like the idea and I see and admire the fun factor… 

That said, life is short.  I only have so much time and energy I can time slice across all the things that are important to me.  I’ve followed a number of people including friends, co-workers, fellow blogger’s, the famous and pseudo-famous.  In all that Twittering, I can’t say I’ve gained anything uniquely valuable to me. 

I’m not going to quit on it yet, but I’d love to hear from someone some examples of how Twitter is actually improving their life (professionally, personally, economically, creatively, intellectually, etc).  The entertainment factor can’t compete with other sources/choices for entertainment…so, anyone got a useful example?

Sean …would be glad to be wrong on this one…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Tagging vs Dewey Decimal… Video from the Past…."I Feel Great!!"

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. frank arrigo  |  April 12, 2007 at 8:25 am

    hey sean

    ive been twittering for a while and i have found it useful.

    i use http:.//www.twittermap.com to find who is nearby

    while i was in la – i got some good recommendations for places to eat from some local folks

    ive been able to post questions and get some quick answers while on the road.

    its like local search, with a personal touch

    Reply
  • 2. Sean ODriscoll  |  April 12, 2007 at 8:53 am

    I’ve played with twittermap some…I’ll play a bit more with that in mind. Thanks for providing a good example.

    sean

    Reply
  • 3. Julie Gomoll  |  April 12, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    Don’t give up yet – Fox has a new show called Drive, by the guy who did Firefly. It also stars the same lead actor. There’s a twitter group (just what are the groups called? flocks? murders?) for the show, and there will be director’s commentary during the premiere this Sunday night. For that, not only will I stick around, I’ll set myself to receive tweets via SMS for that time period. The twitter group is /foxdrive.

    Honestly though, I have to admit, part of the reason I’m keeping up with Twitter is that my dad just *loves* it. He’s old, and 1,000 miles away. It’s a high point in his day when he checks my page and “catches me” having just posted something 🙂

    BTW, have you seen Twitterific? Great little widget – post and receive from a little desktop window. Mac-only, I think.

    Reply
  • 4. Sean ODriscoll  |  April 12, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    ok, that sounds fun. I saw the previews for Drive and wasn’t too interested, but I’ll give it a shot to see the combo-plan.

    sean

    Reply
  • 5. Sean ODriscoll  |  April 15, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    Twittering my way through the SuperClasico…I love Argentine Futbol and it doesn’t get better than Boca v. River Plate! at the Bombonera! Tune in to Fox Soccer ASAP!!!

    Sean

    Reply
  • 6. Laura  |  April 27, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    I work freelance, in an office by myself most of the time, so Twitter is a nice way to maintain the kind of human contact you get in a more traditional office. I can see what others are up to, they can see what I’m up to, and when I’m busy, I can ‘shut the door’ by turning notifications off. It’s nice for that sort of casual, doesn’t-need-a-response communication that comes naturally in a shared space (where you can smell someone’s lunch or overhear a conversation or hear what they’re playing on their radio). Makes the day feel more human.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feedburner feed

Subscribe to my feed

click here Subscribe with Bloglines

Favorite

Add to Technorati Favorites

Filter Blog by Date

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Flickr Photos

Who am I?

Quick Blog Stats

  • 48,114 Page Views

