A couple of good reads (and one not so good) to share today…

April 15, 2007 at 1:48 pm 1 comment

I did a fair amount of reading this weekend, two stood out as worthwhile to share.

1)  Wharton Interview of Ray Ozzie…it’s not just the content, but something different here in terms of tone and manner that I really like in this discussion about Microsoft and software as a service / software plus services.

2)  John Hagel, author of Net Gain, was the keynote at the recent Community 2.0 Conference.  I wasn’t there, but he took the time to author his notes from the speech which I think is an exceptional read for anyone investing in virtual communities and business.

My actions from John’s notes: 

  • Critically review current online plans with his notes in mind
  • Add Net Gain to my “to read” pile
  • Add Ambient Findability to my “to read” pile.

I’m also reading The Starfish and the Spider.  I’m about 50% done with this book.  I really should finish before blogging my thoughts on it, but honestly I’m having trouble sticking with it.  It falls into a category I describe as “Interesting, but not Fascinating.”  It’s an enjoyable enough read with some nice relevant stories about the Apaches, the Quaker’s, AA, Open Source, Wikipedia, etc.  The problem is, I think anyone who is likely to pick this book up and read it will not learn anything new.  I suppose if I was just digging into Web 2.0 / communities, I might like it better, but if I was just getting started, there are better books / resources. 

Sean

del.icio.us tags: , , , , , ,

        Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

        Video from the Past…."I Feel Great!!" Online "Brand Management:" Good? Bad? Or it depends?

        1 Comment Add your own

        • 1. Lee  |  April 15, 2007 at 5:21 pm

          Sean, I highly recommend “Made to Stick” by Chip and Dan Heath. I just finished it (and may have even told you about it before). Like a Malcolm Galdwell book, it makes you think about things a little differently, particularly around writing and presenting ideas.

          Reply

        Leave a Reply

                Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


        Feedburner feed

        Subscribe to my feed

        click here Subscribe with Bloglines

        Favorite

        Add to Technorati Favorites

        Filter Blog by Date

        April 2007
        M T W T F S S
        « Mar   May »
         1
        2345678
        9101112131415
        16171819202122
        23242526272829
        30  

        Flickr Photos

        197

        196

        195

        More Photos

        Who am I?

        Quick Blog Stats

        • 48,114 Page Views

