Visualization of Tag Drafting…

May 29, 2007 at 5:37 pm 1 comment

Awhile back I introduced the notion of Tag Drafting as a way to think about adding efficiency to online information consumption…via topic drafting and/or author drafting.  I’m still very sold on this model in terms of how you might apply it to drive high quality content filtration to online conversations – in fact, I’m drafting every day on the topics that interest me most. 

Lots to discuss here in the future about rating, reputation, voting, and social Bookmarking tools – various combinations of which offer community managers a number of new ways to improve communities both for the most active participants and equally importantly the drive-by participants or “silent searchers.”

Sue Waters at Mobile Technologies in TAFE took the topic a little further in a good explanation at this link of RSS Drafting.  She was kind of enough to send me a link to extisp.icio.us.  

For those inclined to like the idea of tag drafting, this cool little tool gives you a navigable visualization diagram of a tagger’s tags in delicious.  Below is my (seanodmvp) visualization.  Obviously I have a few topics I predominately tag about 🙂  But you get the idea.

tagdraft

For contrast, check out another person who has been tagging far longer (and more diligently) than I (Lee, borrowed you here:))

tagdraft2

It’s my belief that people who share one interest often share other and related interests as well.  I still think it is too hard to make all of this super efficient as part of my normal daily workflow, but I see a lot of great innovation leading in the right direction.  Assuming I know the delicious name, I can quickly grab the visualization, click on a tag and click on an RSS feed to everything that person tags on the topic…Love it! 

More to do of course… For example, it would be really powerful if I could create custom groups of people, visualize their tags, and subscribe to a group RSS feed on the topic – a multi-author, single topic RSS feed – sounds like a combination Reputation + Bookmarking + syndication service).  If someone knows an easy way to do this, let me know:)

Late addition:  Sue also has a great Wiki article on maximizing your use of Delicious.

Sean

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A day to remember days of great consequence: Memorial Day. "Where for art thou" Community ROI

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feedburner feed

Subscribe to my feed

click here Subscribe with Bloglines

Favorite

Add to Technorati Favorites

Filter Blog by Date

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Flickr Photos

197

196

195

More Photos

Who am I?

Quick Blog Stats

  • 48,114 Page Views

