Closing the loop on the T-Mobile Support issue…problem solved.

June 21, 2007 at 9:27 pm 2 comments

I wanted to follow-up on the complaint I raised here regarding a recent support experience with T-Mobile.  First off, hats off to T-Mobile, they have indeed fixed the issue I was experiencing.  A few folks who commented here on the original post experienced the same issue in recent weeks.  Here’s what happened according to the contacts at T-Mobile I worked with the last 24 hrs (in both Customer Service and Advanced Tech Support). 

  • A large # of customers with T-Mobile Data packages were getting unlimited data when the system was intended to gate at some level – this creates an understandable service offering (revenue) problem for T-Mobile.
  • T-Mobile Engineering made a network change that “fixed” this issue for T-Mobile.
  • The fix disabled MANY data subscribers (myself included).  Note, the fix did NOT limit data to some gated amount, it shut it off completely.
  • T-Mobile did not notify customers of this change.
  • T-Mobile engineering did not notify T-Mobile support/customer service of this change.

In the end, once this issue got to the right place, the fix was changing a setting on the T-Mobile network (not on my local device) and then waiting “48-72 hours for the network to accept the changes.”  In fairness, it took only about 2-3 hours before things were working again – under promise, over deliver – goodness.  Solving the problem on the phone took no more than 3 minutes – all of which was done by looking at existing case information – no new info provided.

All of this could have been avoided had any of the following occurred:

  1. Customer notification of the change.
  2. T-Mobile Customer service/support notification by T-Mobile engineering.
  3. Advanced tech support accepting a call without excessive repetition of troubleshooting – given problem definition/symptoms, the root cause would likely have been obvious had #2 been done.
  4. Had I been more patient in the process and jumped through another few hoops.  A handful of readers thought this the best approach.  I don’t agree given where I was at in the process, but it’s a valid choice to put on the list.

At any rate, I wanted to publicly thank T-Mobile for stepping up and solving the problem.  They informed me that my phone calls had been pulled to be reviewed and confirmed that their agents were following a policy/standard procedure that needed to be reviewed and changed.  I’m a fan of the Dash and I’m pleased to have it fully functioning again. 

I was a little surprised at the attention the original post gathered, so closing this loop was important.  In the future I’ll post here a few lessons learned from “posts gone wild.”

Especially if you feel good about the resolution from T-Mobile, you should Digg this to give them the visibility. ( Thanks Josh for the suggestion).

sean

del.icio.us tags: ,

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Learn about how the MVP Program really works… Lessons from a "Blog Post gone wild…"

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Josh Ledgard  |  June 22, 2007 at 10:00 am

    Now I wouldn’t be that surprised at the attention your first post got. You work for a large company and have a great, well read, blog. Combine that with the instructions you gave your readers in the post…

    “Who would like to add to this? Does this story feel familiar? Please DIGG this story. Please link this story.”

    And it’s easy to see that you made the front page. Now, to be fair to T-Mobile (because I always wish some Anti-MS posters would do this when thier issues are resolved) wouldn’t it be nice for you to ask your readers to “Please DIGG THIS resolution and post if you’re issue was also resolved!” I’m just saying. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Susan  |  June 23, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    I’m pleasantly surprised that they took the time to pull your calls that way. I’ll still never go back to them, but I’m glad to hear that things have seemingly improved since I was their customer. 🙂

    Consider it dugg!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feedburner feed

Subscribe to my feed

click here Subscribe with Bloglines

Favorite

Add to Technorati Favorites

Filter Blog by Date

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Flickr Photos

Who am I?

Quick Blog Stats

  • 48,114 Page Views

